Continue to Write Through Your Failures

Writing failures are like spilling your drink while dancing around the fire. You just keep dancing.

Sean P. Durham
4 min readJul 25, 2019

--

I’ve heard the sizzle of spilled drink many times, and then filled my cup again.

I was a painter once, for many years everyday life was about getting up and going to my studio, painting and working on canvasses for the next exhibition.

One day, I’d had had enough of painting, I decided that these characters in my head needed to come out and play.

I am glad that I finally stopped thinking about it, and just started to write.

I’ve never regretted sitting down and starting to write.

My idea back then, was to write about this Gypsy guy from Málaga, he wanted to become a businessman in Madrid, to make money, experience wealth and all the mainstream trappings that go with it.

I began writing, allowing him to tell his story. He ran away with me in a long winded dance around the camp fire.

I ended up writing chapters that were really short stories about Gito, my character. I loved him, I…

--

--

Sean P. Durham

Berlin Notes — Creative Writing about art, Life, photography & cats. https://seandurham.eu