Street Photography in Berlin, 2022

Framing Your Composition with the Tip of Your Nose

People talk of rules. In photography there are no rules, only guidelines.

Sean P. Durham
5 min readAug 26, 2022

--

To better understand how to take a good photo we must understand how our own mind sees the world.

Breaking rules is how we discover our own creativity. We focus on the meat of the thing, and not the tool.

If you’re always about the quality of the tool, then you’re simply in the trap of blaming the tool for a bad outcome.

Sometimes, if a person asks me which camera I use, I tell them I only have a shoe box with a pin hole at the end. It has a coat hanger poking out the side to wind on the roll of film. As a Brit, I can do the straight faced humour quite well.

If for a moment they believe me, their eyes pop, and they see my work as an amazing feat for such a primitive contraption.

If a photographer wants to create vision, then they should work hard on their creativity. That’s the kernel of the thing, of everything in life.

Understanding our own motivations, learning to see objects on our own terms, and formulating visual ideas within the frame for ourselves, leads to a better photo.

--

--

Sean P. Durham

Berlin Notes — Creative Writing about art, Life, photography & cats. https://seandurham.eu