The Business of Cats and a Lost Kitten

The first forty years of my life were cat-free. I thought that nothing could change my mind.

Sean P. Durham
4 min readMay 19, 2023

--

One day, long ago, in a far away land, I came across a kitten in a small urban street. It was late night, the moon was full and an evening walk seemed in order.

I saw a kitten alone in the street.

As I passed, I noticed that the kitten kept his eyes on a group of wheely-bins where a tom cat waited to rush out and attack.

The tom cat’s large family meandered about the street as if waiting for the show to begin.

When the kitten saw me, he tried to wedge himself between my boots for protection. This made me take notice. I made space for him and he shoved his tiny body between my boots. I looked down and noticed the top of his motor-oily head.

I felt his shoulders shrug and twitch as he attempted to make himself disappear between my feet. His body trembled, and he was on full alert as he watched everything that moved.

I suddenly felt as if I was in a hurry. I didn’t want to get involved in the business of cats. but, I’d clearly already taken sides in the scenario.

A street wise tom cat protecting his family with the brutality of natural instinct, and a…

--

--

Sean P. Durham

Berlin Notes — Creative Writing about art, Life, photography & cats. https://seandurham.eu